No Hope in Procrastination…

First,

I’d like to start my post by telling you a little bit about myself.  I am a wife and mother who was born in Manhattan, raised in the Bronx, and still living somewhere in the Empire State.  I have been wanting to start a blog for quite some time now.  Procrastination had become my worst enemy, but this year I have been trying to overcome that part of me.  Thus, here goes my very first blog and post.  I have been an active gamer, virtually that is.  My virtual gaming began in Second Life 2009.   As a result of trying to find a place of refuge (not as an escape) without actually leaving home.  It became a place to find peace, creativity, community, socializing, etc.  So you see, as of today I have let go of the old me and the procrastination ceases.  

My gaming/alias is “Hope.”  I decided on this name as it sort of describes me to a T.

 Yep always hopeful, and because my real life name means “hope.”

reflections

“Hope” is the thing with feathers – (314)

BY EMILY DICKINSON

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –
And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –
I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.

Emily Dickinson, “‘Hope’ is the Thing with Feathers” from The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson, edited by Thomas H. Johnson.  Copyright 1945, 1951, 8 1955, 1979, 1983 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College.  Reprinted with the permission of The Belknap Press of Harvard University Press.

Source: The Poems of Emily Dickinson Edited by R. W. Franklin (Harvard University Press, 1999)

Leave a Reply

