Searching for Hope-Blogging 201 Day 2

HPMDHello!  Today’s task is very important to me.  We get to audit one another’s blog.  Fun! 😀  I am copy pasting the checklist which made it easier for me to examine my blog’s overall brand.


Step One Checklist:

  • My blog’s title used to be Little bits of hope…bits which was supposed to be indicating bits in not only sharing parts, but also the binary aspect.  The meaning of bits:   A bit (short for binary digit), is the smallest unit of data in a computer. A bit has a single binary value, either 0 or 1. Although computers usually provide instructions that can test and manipulate bits, they generally are designed to store data and execute instructions in bit multiples called bytes.  I kind of wanted my blog to go hand in hand with the fact, that I am mostly using it, as a way to share my connection to virtual worlds.  This blog was mainly a testing ground for me to share information with others and make my time worthwhile, while gaming, or using any other computer based environments.  I googled Little bits of hope, and saw other blogs appearing with the same name, so I just decided to let go of the name.  Their blog had more of a purpose than mine.  Hope’s playground & bits…was  my second blog name.  After not keeping up with the posts,  I decided that instead of deleting it, I would just keep this name and move all the posts over to Little bits of hope, and consolidate to one blog and just try to revive it.  Being now officially, Hope’s playground & bits.  So yes, there was much thought in naming my blog.  Hope’s playground & bits gives it more of a playful ring to it, being a gamer-girl, as well as active participant in a virtual world.  Keeping the bits as parts; as well as binary aspect.

  • Tagline I use, I just really like it.  Someday I truly believe 4/5 people will find hope when visiting my blog.  I always add a xoxo’s (personal touch), as a way to show my gratitude to anyone who has visited, follower or not.

  • Widgets, I really couldn’t understand them fully.  Just yesterday, I added the twitter widget.  I don’t use many social media sites at the moment.  I am trying to focus mainly on improving my blog as well as images.  I added the Flickr widget a while ago. I don’t use Facebook any more. 🙂

  • I mostly share things about the virtual community I am a part of, Second-Life.  So the images are usually a variety of snapshots from that  Virtual environment.  I am planning to expand my blog to feature other virtual worlds and games at some point, as well as locations found in my actual living environment.  I want to be able to attract not only residents/online users of Second Life, but also people who aren’t registered users.  I just love people in general!

  • I am not sure, if I’ve used any images that counter my brand. If you notice, I sometimes add credits to each post when I can.  This is, because Second life is a global community based in Second Life .  Many people/online users are content creators. Everything from the avatar, hairs, eyes, fashion (clothing), environment, etc., are created by the residents/people in Second Life.  So I try my best to add the name of the creator or store found in-world (Second Life).  

  • I am not sure if it carries through, just always hoping it peaks someone’s interest at some point.

Completed


Step Two:

Find someone to audit your page.

  • I didn’t receive much advice on changing or adding anything, if anyone would like to leave any suggestions please feel free to do so.

  • I received positive feedback only.

  • People enjoyed my images.

  • They thought my blog was good, because it was an easy read.

  • People thought the theme style, header was nice and the font was just right.

  • Adding the widget for Top Posts and Pages was suggested as well.

Completed


Step Three:

Although I made several additions to my blog, I am going to be adding a direct email, and update my gravatar.  I added the widget for top posts.

Completed

Thank you for reading! ❤

Blogging U.

希望

7 thoughts on “Searching for Hope-Blogging 201 Day 2

  1. Leissa, Your blog looks wonderful. I don’t understand all the SL “Stuff” . Forgive that word. I use it when I can’t think of the word to use. I went to SL and was fascinated. It is a world all it’s own. I don’t have an imagination like that. I never have, Guess who always hate video games?
    Saying all of that I am intrigued by it.
    I don’t feel i know enough to judge anyones blog. Yours was easy to read and I love your links. I am not good at any of that.
    My advice : Don’t change it. You may tweak it to suit your needs but I wouldn’t touch the rest.
    I loved what I saw.
    Sarah

  2. I like what you’re doing here Hope, I admire anyone’s honest efforts at self improvement and will be watching your progress. If you’d ever like to chat about your blog specifically with me, I’d be more than happy to give you any advice I can in private. Best wishes to you!

  3. Hi, thank you so much Becky for being supportive, it is so sweet of you. I just might take you up on that offer of advice some time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

